L2

Four quantum numbers characterize the electron :

principal n = 1, 2, 3, 4, ...;
orbital (angular) l = 0, 1, 2, ..., (n - 1);
magnetic m = 0, ±1,..., ±l;
spin s = +1/2,-1/2.

The energy depends on *n* The set of electrons having the same principal quantum number *n* is called a *shell*. Shells are subdivided into subshells, which have different quantum numbers *l*.

The following notation is convenient

Quantum	1	2	3	4	5	6	7
number <i>n</i>							
Symbol	K	L	M	N	0	P	Q

Inside shell, the electrons with different angular numbers l build up subshells:

Angular	0	1	2	3	4	5
momentum, <i>l</i>						
Symbol	S	p	d	f	g	h

Pauli's exclusion principle states that no two electrons in an atom may have same set of quantum numbers. . In accordance with this principle in a state characterized by three quantum numbers π , I, and m, no more than two electrons with opposite spins can be found.

There are: two electrons in K – shell, eight electrons in L – shell, eighteen electrons in M – shell, and so on.

There are: two electrons in S – subshell, six electrons in p – subshell, ten electrons in d – subshell and so on.

The electron configuration of elements

$$_{11}$$
Na $1s^2 2s^2 2p^6 3s^1$

$$_{14}$$
Si $1s^2 2s^2 2p^6 3s^2 3p^2$



The potential well of an isolated atom and energy levels of electrons